About the award

The 'Good Practice of the Year' is a prize awarded annually by the Renewables Grid Initiative upon recommendation of our jury of experts. The winning practice should be innovative and an improvement to the existing practices in its category. The award will hence honour a single exceptional practice, not an entire grid project. However, the minimum criterion for a submitted practice to be considered in this competition is a clear connection to a grid project that is needed for the integration of renewables. European and non European grid operators, project developers, NGOs and public authorities engaged in grid projects are invited to send their submissions and let their most original and successful practice shine.

Submissions compete in these three categories:

Communication & Participation

The award for ”Communication & Participation” rewards dedicated engagement with stakeholders and the broader public. Good practices in this category include for example, innovative forms of citizen dialogues, creative information events, new communication tools, or original compensation measures.

Technology & Design

This category recognises innovative thinking in technology and design. Any practice that has to do with the aesthetics of grid infrastructure or the creation of a smarter energy infrastructure can be submitted. We hope to learn about new tools for renewable energy integration, innovative grid design concepts, or ideas that target the smarter distribution of electricity. Of course those are only some of the many areas your project can be rooted in.

Environmental Protection

This award honours outstanding practices in nature and biodiversity protection. We are looking for success stories or projects with the potential to some day become success stories in the fields of bird/wildlife protection, habitat restoration along grid lines, ecosystem enhancement under overhead lines and many more.


Stephanie Bätjer
Manager – Communication

Load more
t: +49 30 76771945 30