About the 'RGI Grid Awards: Good Practice of the Year'

The RGI Grid Awards are an annual accolade granted by RGI, based on recommendations from our expert jury. The award acknowledges exceptional practices rather than entire grid projects. However, the submitted practices must clearly show their connection to grid development that facilitates renewable integration. We strongly encourage grid operators, project developers, NGOs, and public authorities involved in grid projects, both European and non-European, to submit their entries and highlight their most original and successful practices. Let your remarkable achievements shine in this competition!

The purpose of this award is to recognise, promote, and commemorate practices that display extraordinary dedication and ingenuity. The jury thoroughly evaluates several factors, such as innovation, impact and outcomes, scope and transferability, and collaborative approaches, to determine the three winning practices.

The RGI Grid Awards honour remarkable practices in grid development across three categories:

  • Technological Innovation & System Integration, 
  • Communication & Engagement, 
  • Environmental Protection.

Submissions for the 'Good Practice of the Year' award are now open for 2024

To submit your application, please use the submission form below by Sunday, July 21st 2024.

You can have a look at the award submission criteria which the jury will use to evaluate practices as well as the example submission form to better understand the process and the effort required from your side. 

2023 Ten-Year Anniversary Winners

2023 year marked the ten-year anniversary of the 'Good Practice of the Year' award presented by the Renewables Grid Initiative. In celebration of this milestone, the 2023 ceremony - at the PCI Energy Days on 28 November - celebrated a unique award for previous 'Good Practice of the Year' award winners, the '10th Anniversary All-Star' award (see below for more info). We have also added some fresh paint to our competition title, which will from now on be known as the ‘RGI Grid Awards: Good Practice of the Year’.


Stephanie Bätjer
Director - Communication

Load more
t: +49 30 2332 11017

Mara Zainea
Manager - Communication

Load more
t: +49 30 2332 11031

RGI gratefully acknowledges the EU LIFE funding support:

EU LIFE funding support Logo

Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the LIFE Programme. Neither the European Union nor the granting authority can be held responsible for them.